Munich 3

Posted: November 14, 2007 in austin carroll

Today we made it to breakfast… after we ate we went to the Zentrum to witness the biggest cuckoo clock in the world – the Glockenspiel. It was so cold, very windy with snow and it was freezing. We stood out in front of a Swiss watch store that had a heater at the entrance. I was waiting for 11 to come and all of a sudden a big group of people were in front of us. We now became part of some tour, luck has it, the tour was an English speaking dude. After the tour was over we were told to wait around for the rooster after the last bells ring! We watched the whole thing in silence, there were no bells. So a little let down. When we got to the track there were a lot of girls around waiting outside. We went in to find the pros racing. After the pros got done there was something going on and they would not let us leave the infield. There was this HOT HOT girl walking up the stairs, we were told she was one of Germany’s biggest pop stars like our Britney Spears, um wait a bad example. lol. It was time to race and I was feeling good again. The start here is different, the riders start on the finish line 6 wide and then the rest are on the rail. So I was at the rail, the race starts and there is a wall of people in front of me walking down the track. We all had to put the brakes on (oh, no brakes) and the race was going fast. We ended up with a bad position because of that. When I got back in the race I went from the back to the very front, it was worth the effort to get there. We were having a good night !THEN! Guy was having trouble with his bike, he thought it was his peddle but it was the bottom bracket. While I was in relief watching the race I was thinking what is going on Guys not racing then I heard Clay say he was going to switch bikes. I did not see this but Guys cranks ended up facing the same direction not ideal. That hurt me having to race on my own for that long. . There was still something not right. Guy looked odd on the bike, did an exchange and we started to lose ground. We realized that his spare bike had the wrong gear, he was spinning and not going. I was unhappy during the race because we were going to lose our 6th overall. We rode to the finish and ended up 8th overall. Oh yeah, you got to love bike racing, its crazy that a bike that is so simple can have so many problems… ha ha funny stuff but it sucks. Now I am in the van driving through the night back to Belgium to ride the 166 tomorrow. It’s only open 7 days out of the year. The 6 day and the one day race on the 11th tomorrow. By the time you read this It should be Wednesday. Sorry for the delay I was unable to post from my phone.
ZENTRUM
ZENTRUM 2
ZENTRUM 3
ZENTRUM 4
ZENTRUM 5
CAR I WANT
ZENTRUM 6
FOUND A STARBUCKS
STARBUCKSTHE OTHER CAR I WANT
THE OTHER CAR I WANT 2
THE OTHER CAR I WANT 3
ZENTRUM 7
LION
A MANZENTRUM 8
ZENTRUM 9
ZENTRUM 10
ZENTRUM 11
DRAGEN
Glockenspiel
GOLD DUDE
ZENTRUM 12
Glockenspiel
ZENTRUM 13
Glockenspiel
GOOD BIKE RACK
IF YOU LOOK HARD YOU WILL KNOW WHY IT FUNNY
me
GERMAN POP STAR
POP STAR STAGE
MONROSE THATS HERE NAME
MONROSE

Leave a Reply

