stage 1 Triptyque Ardennais

Posted: May 20, 2008 in austin carroll

The time between the track race and this stage race was 3 days. One was a travel day, so really two days not a lot of time in my books. The first day was 147kms with 9 climbs.  I was not sure how my legs were going to feel. The first 5 k there was an attack, I just followed the wheels and there was a small group that I was in and I was just testing my legs out on the flats. The whole day I struggled up the climbs I could not spin so I was pushing a big gear and powering up everything. Christopher Monteleone helped me out with some words of encouragement up the last few climbs. On the of the descent I was having trouble with my breaks, my levers were going to my bars so I did not have any brakes, so after a long decent I would be way back and have to chase back on with all the guys that got dropped on the climb. The peloton finished all together with a bunch sprint. I made it through the day finishing 97. Here is the stage profile and pics of my cell and the nice view.


Comments
  1. grandma-pa says:

    Hi Austin…..was able to pull up the video “Ansehem” COOL!!! what a way to ride…to know your there is such a great thrill for us…keep up the great work.
    love you, grandma -grandpa

Leave a Reply

