Day two Dortmund

Posted: November 4, 2008 in austin carroll

Going into day two I was ready to defend and keep our lead. I had the same start as the first day. I just let everyone go around me and then I popped up the track and road over the peloton to the front and picked up the pace. Everyone was trying to move up and I was screwed up two times having to back peddle to get to Guy. There was a wall of people.  There were guys dropping in front of me and I would have no room to get to him. After that I just started pushing around a bit.  The white team (Germany) was our closest competition and that is who we watched. The whole time they tried hard to get a lap but we were right there every time. We were doing everything well, we did not get to many points on the night but we lapped the peloton trying to get a bigger lead on the second team.  We got the lap but the white team was not far behind us and they got a lap. As soon as I got to the back of the peloton I went right to the front and we wanted to go again and put the pressure on them. Guy went again and we had a gap but the white team was chasing so we let up. With 12 laps to go I saw a crash and I looked to the peloton and did not see yellow. Crap! I rolled around and saw Guy getting up with 11 laps to go.  I jumped in and soon after Guy was back on the track as I threw him in he yelled that his cleat was broken.  A sprint was coming up and I asked if he was going to sprint and he did.  We finished the race in third overall but still in the lead. After the race I was rolling around and this big group of girls were yelling we love you Carroll.  I was going by slowing down and one of the girls grabbed me and started kissing me.  I was taken back a little with them, they all wanted to take pics of me. When I got my flowers and were doing our victory lap for being in the lead I gave them to one of the girls and they went crazy.  It was a lot of fun.  I looked up at the jumbotron and there I was.  I said bye and caught up to Guy with a big smile on my face and laughing. I told him I love racing in Germany the fans are awesome…………….

riding after the race

riding after the race

 

Comments
  1. Joel says:

    Congrats! Sounds like you had a blast.

  2. thanks it was a good time!

  3. Blake says:

    Austin, congratulations!! We are all proud of your achievements and it looks like you are having a whole lot of fun too. Enjoy your time traveling and racing and please keep the rubber side down.

Leave a Reply

