Mexico so far

Posted: February 28, 2009 in austin carroll

I took a red eye and I got to Mexico at 6:00 am and I only got maybe 3 hours of sleep on the plane. Once I got through border control our bags were just laying every where. I looked, found my bike then I dug for my bag. I looked all around for it, nowhere to be found. I tried to find someone to talk to and once I found someone they did not understand me. This is when I used made up sign language. I got the point across, he said ok and walked away. I stood in the little baggage claim forever. Finally, from behind the corner there she was getting rolled to me. Got my bag and they have the red button you have to push and I got the red light. They took all my bags and opened and looked through them. Once I got through, I was greeted by two ladies that were with the race. I did not know that everyone was waiting for me on the bus. The bus ride to the hotel was a trip. Saw two car accidents, the bus driver had some mad driving skills. We got settled in, Chris Barton and I went on a ride, it was like no ride I have ever done. Dodging big pot holes, buses stopping in front of us, weaving in and out of traffic. It was a lot like Mountain biking but you might get hit by a scooter. The hotel well its a hotel but we are in a sweet bungalow. Food is good, water is hard to find. Racing starts Sunday.

Comments
  1. bilko says:

    just as long as you have internet to keep us posted;-)

  2. bilko says:

    Road Bike Action is out with the Carroll/East interview…

Leave a Reply

