stage 2

Posted: March 8, 2009 in austin carroll

Stage two was really hot and I was not feeling the best. I sat in all day big rollers that were not helping out. The last  climb was going up and we were in the gutter. I just could not keep going as hard as I needed to. I went through the peloton and was dropped with 20 k to go. I was with one other guy. As we were on the last climb he was excellerating but I could not hang. He was still in my sights when the moto dude told me I was time cut. I knew that could not be true because I had an hour. They made me get off my bike and I was really not happy. When they took my bike I took a knee. I was tired and hot well they helped me up and made me get in the ambulence. They made me lay down.  They did not speak English so everything I said they just looked at me. I told them I was fine, good to go, and I  did not need to be here. When we got to the  finish they would not let me get up I told them my team is waiting for me. I was pissed about race that evening when I learned that they “time cut” me because of traffic. I did not want to think about it so I took a shower and went to bed at 8 and slept till 7:30. That was nice.

Comments
  1. Blake says:

    Austin, hang in there it is still early in the season and it will get better.

Leave a Reply

